Thursday, October 9, 2014

'Camp X-Ray' Soundtrack pushed back + Preview with 2 NEW stills

While Lakeshore Records announced, and still announce on their website that the soundtrack will be released on October 7. Apparently they now have pushed back the release. Here's their new press release:

Lakeshore Records will release the CAMP X-RAY – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on October 14th and on CD November 11, 2014. The album features original music by Jess Stroup (HOTLINE, CARDBOARD BOXER).

“When director Peter Sattler approached me about creating the score for his Guantanamo Bay drama, CAMP X-RAY, he knew exactly what he wanted: a minimal score using electronic sounds. He encouraged me to look for unusual electronic sounds, sounds that he would hear and have no idea what they were or how they were made. Sounds that maybe felt a little cold or lonely, to emphasize the loneliness and unreality of prison life.” said Stroup. “Having been an obscure ambient electronic music artist myself, I was excited to return to this world of synthetic sound and see what I could come up with that would fit.” Stroup read the script and began brainstorming. Of the pieces he created, three would become recurring themes in the film’s score.

“At the heart of CAMP X-RAY is a story about a relationship between a guard and a detainee in Guantanamo Bay, a story about human connection,” explained Stroup. “So the music needed to give us room to think about that, without judging what the action of the detainees might have been, or judging the United States government’s role in imprisoning them.”

Stroup described, “The most challenging part about scoring CAMP X-RAY was to avoid leading the viewer too much emotionally, or to let the score influence the viewer’s opinion of the film’s characters. Since it is set in Guantanamo Bay, the story takes place in a world of conflict, and the detainment of the prisoners is very controversial. One thing we never wanted to do was allow the score to make the mood too sad or obvious in what the viewer should feel.”

IFC Films presents CAMP X-RAY in theaters on October 17. The CAMP X-RAY – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack will be available digitally on October 14th and on CD November 11, 2014.

• Pre-order the soundtrack on Amazon
Preview with 2 NEW stills from the movie:


September 29, 2014

"Lakeshore Records will release the soundtrack album for the indie drama Camp X-Ray. The album features the film’s original music composed by Jess Stroup. The soundtrack will be released digitally on October 7, 2014." (digitally aka on iTunes)

Lakeshore Records will post audio clips soon.
Here's the tracklist:

1. Departure (2:00)
2. Empty Hallways 1 (1:05)
3. Is That Your Room? (2:39)
4. Empty Hallways 2 (1:04)
5. The Cocktail (1:48)
6. Communal Stash (1:03)
7. Hitchcock On the Block (1:49)
8. Morning Routines (1:33)
9. The Shower (2:02)
10. Dismissed (2:33)
11. Writing the Memo (1:07)
12. Empty Hallways 3 (0:55)
13. The Knife (3:30)
14. The Last Walk / Empty Hands (2:45)